Neyland RFC | 1st Team 5 - 12 Aberaeron RFC | 1st Team
Stephen Martin
Try 1

Match Report
02 October 2017 / Team News

Neyland v Aberaeron

Aberaeron hang on at The Athletic Ground

Neyland 5 - Aberaeron 12

This match was low on points but played with total commitment in difficult conditions before Aberaeron edged home and denied Neyland the chance of claiming a first win after two previous defeats.

But although they had to settle for a losing bonus point The All Blacks battled hard and coach Steve Martin must have been pleased with the display of his talented youngsters who were ably assisted by Martin himself at outside half, Mark Riley at full back, winger Delme Bateman, Mark James in the second row and especially Chris Busby at No 8.

There were some real positive in performances by young centres Alex Codd and George Williams, flankers Iestyn and Jake Evans, second row Luke Dawes, plus props Jack Harries and Eugene Grice – and no shortage of effort from hooker Craig Power and winger Chris Morgan.

Aberaeron arrived with a big pack that included powerful forwards like Owen Wozencroft, Alistair Severs, Gareth Hughes and skipper Alex Denton, who was chosen as Aber’s man of the match for his efforts at tight head prop.

They led 7-5 at half time as centre Ollie Sayer scored a try, converted by No 10 Rhodri Jenkins, whilst Neyland replied with a Martin try where the easy conversion was missed.

The All Blacks had the advantage of wind and slope after the oranges but failed to convert pressure into points – and the only score came from a good support try for the visitors by dynamic flanker Aaron Lewis.
It was a disappointing conclusion to this tussle for Martin and Co but the coach will know that he has some talented players in his squad who will gain experience during the season – and the results will improve!
Neyland: Mark Riley: Chris Morgan; Alex Codd; George Williams; Delme Bateman: Steve Martin; Adam Cawley: Jack Harries; Craig Power; Eugene Grice: Mark James; Luke Dawes: Jake Evans; Iestyn Evans; Chris Busby. Replacements: Richard Jones; Steve Hamer; Ben Goodridge; Harley Tree; Johnny Lloyd.

Aberaeron:  Dyfrig Dafis: Bleddyn Thomas; Tom Slinger; Ollie Sayers; Rhodri Thomas: Rhodri Jenkins; Iwan Thomas: Owen Wozencroft; Rhydian harries; Alex Danton: Alistair Severs; Gethin Hughes: Aaron Lewis; Sion Stephens; Tudur Jenkins. Replacements: Dafydd Lloyd; Iwan Evans; Dafydd Llewellyn; Sion Evans; Steffan Doyle.
Referee: Simon Harries


There doesn't appear to be any tagged photos.

Upload and Tag Photos